Scholarships and Awards

Summer Research Scholarships

Chemistry majors are eligible to apply for summer undergraduate research scholarships. These scholarships are intended for undergraduates already engaged in research activities who can benefit from essentially full-time summer research. Only those students who will be enrolled as undergraduates during the next academic year are eligible to apply. Applications from students and supporting statements from their faculty research mentors are due in the Undergraduate Office in early February.

The summer research awards are announced each year at the annual Chemistry Honors Banquet in April. The summer research scholarships are made possible by monies from various contributions by individuals as well as corporate sponsors.

The Hutton Honors College Undergraduate Honors Research Grant Program is another source of monies for juniors and seniors engaging in research. All eligible applicants to the departmental scholarship program are also expected to file applications with this program as well. The criteria are: promise of productive scholarship, motivation, and skill in research (as reflected by grades and faculty recommendations; significance of project, feasibility and quality of proposal; realism of the budget and equitable distributions of grants among departments). The amount of the award varies. Application is made through the Hutton Honors College (324 N. Jordan Ave.).

Merit Scholarships and Awards

Several scholarships and awards are given each year to students based on their academic accomplishments. These scholarships vary in amount from $500 to $1000. Two are awarded to top seniors going on to graduate school in chemistry. These scholarships and awards are funded mainly by individuals.

2018 Honors Banquet Scholarship & Award Winners

Additional invitees include:
Class Awards
Honors Program
Honor Roll
Phi Beta Kappa

2018 Summer Scholarships

Raymond Siedle Scholarship Cox, Natalie
Ira E. Lee Memorial Fund in Chemistry Dietrich, Jonathan
E. Lee Memorial Fund in Chemistry Eaton, Laura
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Ellinger, Emily
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Gentry, Zachary
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Hagen, Karl
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Hamilton, Will
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Herodotou, Christophoros
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Kaefer, Samuel
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Kuker, Erin
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Lawson, Bret
The Votaw Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Lyu, Yuhan
Sturdevant Summer Scholarship Price, Paige
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Reilly, Austin
Frank Mathers Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Roof, Caitlin
Sturdevant Summer Scholarship Saldivar, Robert
Frank Mathers Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Simon, Julie
Raymond Siedle Scholarship Stutsman, Sydney
Lee J. Todd Chemistry Memorial Scholarship Vincent, Regine
John H. Billman Summer Scholarship Wang, Zhiyang
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Ye, Ziyun April

2018 Departmental Awards

John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Scanameo Laura
Forrest L. Warner Scholarship Lee Cindy
Grim Scholarship Ibikunle Oluwagbemisola
Grim Scholarship Reilly Austin
Forrest L. Warner Scholarship Beeler Josh
Dennis Peters Scholarship Cruse Jordan
Dennis Peters Scholarship King Carli
Grim Scholarship Hardman Sara
Grim Scholarship Watson Jonathan
Grim Scholarship Dietrich Jonathan
Grim Scholarship Yun EJun
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Eaton Laura
Courson Greeves Buehler Nicholas
Harlan English Scholarship Riddle Michael
Leroy Dugan Scholarship Desai Saj
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Lu Yuhan
William G. Roessler Scholarship Collins Jessica
Keith Ault Scholarship Kumar Nikita
Francis & Mildred (Eckerty) Whitacre Scholarship Qian Gene
Enola Rentschler Van Valer Trafford Scholarship Cox Natalie
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Ellinger Emily
Enola Rentschler Van Valer Trafford Scholarship Kuker Erin
Russell Leo & Trula Sidwell Hardy Scholarship Ye Ziyun
Dennis Peters Scholarship Nguyen Ashley
Dennis Peters Scholarship Hui Yee Hang Etan
Francis & Mildred (Eckerty) Whitacre Scholarship Mulcahey Caitlyn
Harlan English Scholarship Carew Samuel
William H. Bell Award Saldivar Robert
William H. Bell Award Simon Julie
McKenzie Trinh Alan
William H. Bell Award Vincent Regine
Andrew Loh Scholarship Lawson Bret
Margaret C. & Anne Marie Kuzmitz Scholarship Frank Alexandra