News + Events

Dennis Peters Receives 2019 Old Crescent Award

October 5, 2018

Dennis G. Peters, the Herman T. Briscoe Professor of Chemistry, has been selected to receive the 2019 Old Crescent Award. The Old Crescent Award celebrates individuals whose exceptional philanthropy creates a lasting impact, empowering students and faculty of today and tomorrow of equal measure. You have been a pillar of the college community for many years and the Old Crescent Award is a recognition of your unparalleled contribution to the college.

Professor Peters received his B.S. degree (cum laude) in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1958 and his Ph.D. degree in analytical chemistry from Harvard University in 1962.  He joined the Indiana University faculty in 1962 and became the Briscoe Professor in 1975.

Dennis has taught in our Chemistry department for fifty six years. His many pedagogical achievements include having taught over 14,000 undergraduate students (regularly teaching the introductory chemistry course for freshmen science majors), published five text books that have been translated into multiple languages and sold over 120,000 copies worldwide, mentored over 40 graduate students in his research group, had 27 undergraduates as co-authors on his publications, and he has been intimately involved with high school chemistry programs around the state. As his colleagues are quick to attest, at 81 years old, Dennis brings as much enthusiasm to his teaching as he did in his first year at IU in 1962. We are happy to be able to celebrate over fifty years of IU teaching with Dennis through this award.

He has received a number of Indiana University awards for distinguished teaching: the Ulysses G. Weatherly Award in 1969, the College of Arts and Sciences–Graduate School Alumni Association Award in 1984, the Alpha Lambda Delta Favorite Faculty Award in 1995, and three Teaching Excellence Recognition Awards in 1997, 1999, & 2000.  In addition, he is the recipient of two national teaching awards: the Chemical Manufacturers Association National Catalyst Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1988 and the American Chemical Society Division of Analytical Chemistry Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1990; the James Flack Norris Award for outstanding achievement in the teaching of chemistry, 2001; the Brown Derby Award (IU Society of Professional Journalists); the Henry B. Linford Award, 2002;  Trustee Teaching Awards (Indiana University), 2003, 2005 & 2007; the Distinguished Service Award (Indiana University), 2004-05; a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society, 2007; a Trustee Teaching Award, 2009; Manuel M. Baizer Award for Organic Electrochemistry, 2011, AAAS Fellow Award, 2012; and the American Chemical Society (ACS) Fellow Award 2017.David and Cheryl Morely Distinguished Teaching Award 2018.