News + Events

Sara E. Skrabalak Wins 2017 FRED Award

August 8, 2017

James H. Rudy Professor, Sara E. Skrabalak, Chemistry Department, Indiana University Bloomington, is the 2017 FRED Award winner sponsored Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA)

Skrabalak will receive a $250,000 award to help support her research into designer metal nanostructures for anti-counterfeit and anti-tamper applications.

FRED – Frontiers in Research Excellence and Discovery – is named in honor of RCSA founder Frederick Gardner Cottrell, a professor at University of California, Berkeley. He invented the electrostatic precipitator, an air- pollution control device that uses the force of an induced electrostatic charge to remove particles from a flowing gas. The second-oldest private foundation in the U.S. and the first devoted wholly to science, RCSA was founded in 1910.

“The FRED awards point to the future by providing funds to initiate high-risk/high-reward projects that will potentially transform a scientific field,” said RCSA Senior Program Director Silvia Ronco.