Scholarships & Awards


2017 Scholarship Application
Students interested in applying for the 2017 Chemistry Academic Scholarship or the Summer Research Scholarship should fill out the online application form on or before February 3, 2017 by 4:00 PM. No late applications will be accepted.


2017 Honors Banquet Scholarship & Award Winners

Additional invitees include:

Class Awards
Honors Program
Honor Roll
Phi Beta Kappa

2017 Summer Scholarships


John H. Billman Summer Scholarship Evan Keiser
Ira E. Lee Memorial Fund in Chemistry LeeAnn Sager
Ira E. Lee Memorial Fund in Chemistry Megan Coghlan
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Stanley Bram
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Riley Mortensen
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Gene Qian
Harry G. Day Summer Scholarship Jay Shukla
Sturdevant Summer Scholarship Zitong Song
Sturdevant Summer Scholarship Caitlyn Mulcahey
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Emily Ellinger
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Cathering Morgan
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Jacob Huston
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Timothy Gruenhagen
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship Huidi Chen
Robert & Marjorie Mann Scholarship EJun Yun
Frank Mathers Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Bret Lawson
Frank Mathers Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Paige Price
Raymond Siedle Scholarship Regine Vincent
Raymond Siedle Scholarship Austin Reilly
Lee J. Todd Chemistry Memorial Scholarship Lennon Gregor
Votaw Undergraduate Summer Research Scholarship Joshua Ewigleben



2017 Departmental Awards


Keith Ault Scholarship Wyatt Wright
Courson Greeves Camille Allison
Grim Scholarship

Zachary Lee

Grim Scholarship Casandra Pame Sandoval Hurtado
Grim Scholarship Andrew Stark
Grim Scholarship Jessica Collins
Grim Scholarship Jay Shukla
Grim Scholarship Christine Yang
Russell Leo & Trula Sidwell Hardy Scholarship Alan Trihn
Harlan English Scholarship Gursimran Kaur
Harlan English Scholarship Caitlyn Mulcahey

Andrew Loh Scholarship

Gina Roesch
Dennis Peters Scholarship Ashley Nguyen
Dennis Peters Scholarship Lennon Gregor
Dennis Peters Scholarship Drew Wawrzyszuk
Dennis Peters Scholarship Christine Hustmyer
William G. Roessler Scholarship Timothy Gruenhagen
Viola Scholarship in Nuclear Chemistry Bryce Manifold
Leroy Dugan Scholarship Daniel Cox
Forrest L. Warner Scholarship Riley Mortensen
Forrest L. Warner Scholarship Yuhan Lu
Joseph B. Schwartzkopf Award Hendrik Glauninger
Mary Frechtling White Memorial Chemistry Scholarship Molly McFadden
James C. White Award Christopher Dietrich
William H. Bell Award Samantha Lisy
William H. Bell Award Stephen Feldhake III
William H. Bell Award Anne Lietzke
American Chemical Society Robert Satterthwaite
Enola Rentschler Van Valer Trafford Scholarship Catherine Morgan
Enola Rentschler Van Valer Trafford Scholarship Laura Scanameo
Francis & Mildred (Eckerty) Whitacre Scholarship Brendan Martin
Francis & Mildred (Eckerty) Whitacre Scholarship Eda Shi
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Sara Hardman
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Logan Hille
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Jacob Huston
John R. & Wendy Kindig Scholarship Gene Qian
Margaret C. & Anne Marie Kuzmitz Scholarship Zitong Song


Summer Research Scholarships

Chemistry majors are eligible to apply for summer undergraduate research scholarships. These scholarships are intended for undergraduates already engaged in research activities who can benefit from essentially full-time summer research. Only those students who will be enrolled as undergraduates during the next academic year are eligible to apply. Applications from students and supporting statements from their faculty research mentors are due in the Undergraduate Office in early February.

The summer research awards are announced each year at the annual Chemistry Honors Banquet in April. The summer research scholarships are made possible by monies from various contributions by individuals as well as corporate sponsors.

The Hutton Honors College Undergraduate Honors Research Grant Program is another source of monies for juniors and seniors engaging in research. All eligible applicants to the departmental scholarship program are also expected to file applications with this program as well. The criteria are: promise of productive scholarship, motivation, and skill in research (as reflected by grades and faculty recommendations; significance of project, feasibility and quality of proposal; realism of the budget and equitable distributions of grants among departments). The amount of the award varies. Application is made through the Hutton Honors College (324 N. Jordan Ave.).

Merit Scholarships and Awards

Several scholarships and awards are given each year to students based on their academic accomplishments.  These scholarships vary in amount from $500 to $1000. Two are awarded to top seniors going on to graduate school in chemistry. These scholarships and awards are funded mainly by individuals.