2014 Gill Symposium & Awards
Featured speakers this year include Sabrina Diano (Yale University), Tony K.T. Lam (University of Toronto), Randy Seeley (University of Michigan).
(Posted 8/26/2014)
NOBCChE Research Symposium
September 27th, 2014. The keynote speaker will be Professor Lisa M. Jones, Department of Chemistry, IUPUI.
(Posted 8/25/2014)
The Fifth Annual Watanabe Symposium in Chemical Biology
Invited speakers this year include Catherine L. Drennan (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Xiaowei Zhuang (Harvard University), Michael A. Weiss (Case Western Reserve University) and Philip S. Low (Purdue University).
(Posted 8/25/2014)
Attention all scientists!
ACS on Campus will be on campus Thursday, Oct. 9 and Friday Oct. 10. Learn the basics of scholarly publishing, master SciFinder and further your career. Free food provided to all registered attendees. Register now at
(Posted 8/20/2014)
Profs. Mike VanNieuwenhze and Yves Brun
in the Department of Biology have been selected to receive an inaugural Outstanding Faculty Collaborative Research Award for 2014. This award, jointly supported by the Office of the Provost & Executive Vice President and the Office of the Vice Provost for Research, was established to recognize and honor the achievements of a collaborative team of IU Bloomington faculty whose research, scholarship, or creative activity is making important scholarly contributions. This recognition comes with a $15,000 stipend to be shared by the investigators. The principal event associated with the award is a 25-minute presentation of the team's project and collaborative process to be held during the Fall 2014 semester.
(Posted 8/18/2014)
Collaboration between Professors Steve Tait and Amar Flood,
has led to a recently published joint paper on surface self-assembly. Read the Press Release here
(Posted 8/5/2014)
Dr. Indranil Mitra,
a recent graduate student of Professor Stephen Jacobson, has received a Humboldt Research Fellowship for Postdoctoral Researchers to study at the University of Freiburg in Freiburg, Germany. His fellowship begins November 1, 2014.
(Posted 8/5/2014)
This is a profoundly sad time for the department and our graduate student community
Our thoughts and prayers are with Karlijn's family and with Mookie Baik and members of his group. More...
(Posted 7/21/2014)
Martha Oakley,
has been awarded a three-year grant from the Chemistry of Life Processes Program at the NSF-CHE for the project entitled "Structure and Interactions of a Bacterial Condensin.
(Posted 7/15/2014)
Professor Jonathan Raff,
Department of Chemistry, has been awarded an NSF CAREER Award for the amount of $649,000 over the course of 5 years to study the mechanisms of nitrous acid formation and loss in the atmosphere.
(Posted 6/17/2014)
C&EN Coverage for Professor Amar Flood,
A recent paper published in CrystEngComm on the 3D printing of molecules has been featured in Chemical & Engineering News.
(Posted 5/19/2014)
Professor Sara Skrabalak,
Department of Chemistry, has been named a 2014 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awardee. The Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awards Program supports the research and teaching careers of talented young faculty in the chemical sciences. Criteria for selection include an independent body of scholarship attained within the first five years of their appointment as independent researchers, and a demonstrated commitment to education, signaling the promise of continuing outstanding contributions to both research and teaching.
(Posted 4/30/2014)
Professor Lane Baker,
has been appointed James F. Jackson Associate Professor of Chemistry for a four-year term, effective July 1, 2014.
(Posted 4/21/2014)
Jeremy Smith
in collaboration with a French research group, has just had a paper accepted into JACS that deals with a photoinduced single molecule magnet. More...
(Posted 4/21/2014)

View more news in the IU Newsroom »